The Academy Staff

Board of Directors

Site-wide Links



24 Warren Street
Concord, NH 03301
Tel. (603) 228-4530
Fax (603) 228-4730


To stimulate invention, innovation and other creative endeavors.

To promote the interest of youth in the applied sciences.

To recognize and reward significant innovative achievements.

To disseminate results of scientific research and studies.

To provide a
forum conducive to construction, exploration, discussion and debate affecting the scientific, legal and educational communities

Meet Our People

The Academy is recognized nationally as an educational resource center offering enrichment programs for students, and professional development for teachers and educational administrators. The Academy honors learners of all ages, striving to encourage inventive thinking, productive research and talent development in the disciplines of math, science and the humanities.

The Academy's youth science activities annually reach over 12,000 elementary and high school students nationwide. These activities include sponsorship of the Young Inventors' Program® , the administration of the national Junior Science and Humanities Symposia (JSHS), and the Research and Engineering Apprenticeship Program (REAP), which take place at colleges and universities nationwide. Funding for programs is provided by the Academy and through contracts and fees for services, as well as grants from private foundations, contributions from individuals and state and local federal agencies.

The membership of the Academy consists primarily of entrepreneurs, inventors, industrial and intellectual property lawyers, businesspersons, educators and others concerned with innovation and furthering the service of technology and applied science. Individuals become members of the Academy through nomination by current members.

The Academy is administered by its officers, directors and advisory board.

The Academy Staff

sheila avery

Sheila is the Program Assistant at the Academy. She brings has over 20 years experience as a business owner in the technical community. She provides ongoing support for all programs. Contact:

Doris Cousens

Doris directs the JSHS (Junior Science & Humanities Symposia) Program. Doris has more than 25 years of experience in youth education and program administration. Contact:

Pamela Hampton

Pamela has over 25 years of administrative and managerial experience. As Program Director for the Young Inventors' Program®, a statewide youth endeavor designed to spark creativity in K-8 classrooms through the process of invention, Pamela leads an Advisory Board of volunteer New Hampshire educators and business leaders. Contact:

Jill Malcom

Jill is the Director of Development for the Academy. Jill brings a combination of executive, software entrepreneur and non-profit management experiences to the Academy. Jill was the Executive Director for 13 years of Mastodon Fair non-profit that is now the largest art and science fair in the United States. She grew the Mastodon Fair from one county to seven, increased participation to over 3,000 students and created a commercially available software product called E-Fair for the complete administration of a science or art fair. As a 20 year CEO of an entrepreneurial software development company, Jill raised venture capital, had one patent awarded and secured contracts with seven Fortune 500 companies and one multi-year government contract. Contact:

Irene O'Mara

Irene (Renie) is the Program Director for REAP (The Research and Engineering Program) and has more than 30 years of program administration experience. Renie also serves as Treasurer of the Academy. Contact:

Catherine Trojano

Catherine (Kate) is the Academy’s Business Administrator and serves as the Deputy Director of the JSHS (Junior Science & Humanities Symposia) Program. Kate has worked in business administration for more than 30 years and has nearly 20 years of program administration experience. Contact:

Our Board of Directors:

Sheldon Apsell, Chairman of the Board

Sheldon, past President and CEO of Micrologic, is a successful entrepreneur with over 30 years experience bringing new technologies to market. Dr. Apsell was a co-founder of Kronos, now a publicly traded company. His other commercial successes include the development of LoJack, the industry standard for stolen vehicle recovery systems, and Lifeline, a personal emergency response system. Dr. Apsell holds 8 patents and has brought to market some 50 consumer and industrial products. He is an MIT graduate with a Ph.D. in Physics from Brandeis University.

Robert DiMatteo

Bob is the founder, CEO and Chairman of MTPV Power Sources. MTPV Corporation was established to continue research, development, and commercialization of his innovations in Micron-gap ThermalPhotoVoltaics technology (MTPV).  Bob and his team founded the field of MTPV, a means of directly converting heat or sunlight to electricity, based on their pioneering work at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Toby Kusmer

Toby is a partner in the law firm of McDermott Will & Emery LLP and is based in the Firm's Boston office. He focuses his practice on all aspects of intellectual property law, both U.S. and international.

Joanne Hayes-Rines, President

Joanne is President of the Academy, was publisher and editor of Inventors Digest magazine, and President of the United Inventors Association of the United States of America. Joanne is active in informing the invention community about proposed changes in the U.S. patent system and has been instrumental in rallying inventors to speak up and make their voices heard in Congress.

Frederick McCorkle, LT. General (retired)

Fred retired from the United States Marine Corps in 2001. Fred last served as the Deputy Commandant for Aviation, Headquarters, Marine Corps, Washington, D.C. Personal decorations included: the Distinguished Service Medal; The Legion of Merit with three gold stars in lieu of second through fourth awards; the Distinguished Flying Cross with gold star in lieu of second award; the Purple Heart; the Air Medal with Single Mission Award and 76 Strike/Flight Awards; Navy Commendation Medal with Combat "V"; and the Navy Achievement Medal.

James Milliken

Jim is a graduate of the Whittemore School of Business, University of New Hampshire, and is a financial advisor with Modern Woodmen, a fraternal organization. Jim is very active in outreach in the New Hampshire community.

Subhash Minocha

Subash is a Professor of Plant Biology and Genetics at the University of New Hampshire. In addition to the research in his laboratory, he teaches in the College of Life Sciences and Agriculture and is also involved in a number of outreach science educational programs.

Ralph Rodriguez

Ralph Rodriguez is CEO and Founder of Delfigo, conducting research at MIT and located in Boston, Massachusetts. As an entrepreneur, Ralph has started several companies including in 2003, Invenio and New Technologies and Associates in 1993. Prior roles include Principal Strategy Consultant and Director of IT for Treacy & Company (a management-consulting firm, led by Dr. Michael E. Treacy, co-author of the best selling, The Discipline of Market Leaders and author of Double-Digit Growth: How Great Companies Achieve It - No Matter What). Ralph is currently a Fellow at Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (HST) and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).